Suddenly, it’s okay to just not turn up

4 thoughts on “Suddenly, it’s okay to just not turn up

  1. I advertised for our granny flat to rent just over 12mths ago, advertised it again very recently….wow…. people so much ruder, abrasive, demanding etc, I noticed a massive difference in 12mths.I don’t think covid had anything to do with the attitude i experienced. Pressure, stress, cost of living, distrust, selfishness & plain old exhaustion with work, people & life perhaps. Let’s throw in expectations and realities. Let’s hope please & thankyou make a comeback.

    Like

  2. Thanks Meg, I am noticing changes in myself and others in the last few years. My energy levels, enthusiasm and willingness to travel any distance is markedly diminished. I attribute part of this to health issues (cardiac and structural) which have emerged in the last two years (the former, post covid). But more importantly mental health seems to have taken a beating too. From being an “enthusiastic” climate and community activist I have gradually stopped participating in various groups, find it hard to sign petitions (partly due to distrust about my data use), prefer to leave committing to engagements until the last minute and avoid all but a couple of people in my everyday life. There is an underlying feeling that my actions no longer make a lot of difference in the broader scheme of things. This seems to be somewhat connected to the concerns raised in your post.

    While I attribute some of this apathy to the post covid environment, and some to climate burnout, I also suspect this has as much to do with global and national political disillusion, distrust and emerging social unravelling.

    A longish waffle but I hope it adds usefully to the mix. Regards, Julie

    Like

  3. What a fabulous post, both about “rubbery” committment these days and
    about the pretense that covid is over and gone. I have to say that I
    noted the committment thing before covid when I was very involved with
    organising events with the local permaculture group, not only from
    attendees but also from some volunteers. Sadly, it was largely younger
    people who seemed to think that not showing up was ok. I am not into
    criticising those younger than me, but it was noticeable. In many cases
    we began to ask for payment in advance so that we could meet property
    rentals or modest payment to presenters, regardless of no-shows. Added
    to that, some people would simply turn up to an event without booking
    in, oblivious to limited space, catering needs etc.

    As to this supposed post-covid world … I am close to a nurse in a
    regional aged care facility, where yesterday, there were 12 residents
    and 8 staff currently with covid, in a nursing home that was able to
    avoid it altogether during the height of the lockdowns. I recently
    traveled to Melbourne from my regional city to find I was the only
    person on several forms of public transport wearing a mask.

    I have withdrawn from active participation in my permaculture group,
    although I continue the lifestyle and the close friendships made, due to
    burnout and total frustration with the world in general, our own country
    in particular, with it’s lack of doing anything real with regard to the
    changing climate. It felt like my own contributions to the cause became
    pointless. There are many like me, committed to the lifestyle but
    retired from trying to communicate it to others. It makes me very sad

    Like

Leave a comment